About Morphett

The seat of Morphett was named after Sir John Morphett (1809-1892), who lived in the Morphettville area and was Speaker of the enlarged Legislative Council in 1851 and President of the elected Legislative Council 1865-1873.

To the West of Adelaide, Morphett comprises the suburbs of Camden Park, Glengowrie, Glenelg, Glenelg East, Glenelg South, Morphettville, Novar Gardens, Park Holme, the western portion of Plympton, Plympton Park, and the northern portion of Somerton Park.